Battle of the bulge
2003-09-19 ~ 9:56 a.m.

Day 2 of the Get Krista Healthy and Fit Before She Keels Over and Dies plan. Seriously, I've made some changes in the past few days. I've been fixing healthy lunches and dinners, started working out in the morning rather in the afternoon, and I've been trying to have a more positive outlook on my life.

So, my current weight is 190 pounds. Yikes. I mean.....yikes.

Why do I want to lose weight? Several reasons:

1) Health. Plain and simple. I don't want to cut short my life expectancy just because I can't handle my eating habits.

2) Pregnancy. We want to start trying for a baby next spring. I would like to be a healthy weight by then, simply to make my carrying a baby a little easier on me. Plus, we'll be able to pass on those healthy eating habits to our offspring.

3) Vanity. Ok, I admit it. I'm green with envy when someone walks by with a size 8 or 10 body. I'm a size 16 flirting with size 18. I'd like to get some of that off me so that I start looking half decent in my clothes. I know that I will feel better about myself and my confidence will begin showing through a little more.

4) Sex. Don't get me wrong. My sex life with D. is absolutely fantastic. It's just that sometimes I don't feel as sexy as I could - it's that whole "I look fat and how could he want to have sex with a cow" thing. I know D. loves me for me, and that he finds me sexy, but I'd like to be a little more confident in the bedroom.

My main excuse for not working out used to be that I'd do it after work. This presented a myriad of problems. I wouldn't get home in time to cook anything, unless we wanted to eat at 8 PM. I was usually bagged after work, so enthusiasm and motivation were at a minimum. If I worked out after work, I'd have to go home and take a shower, cook, eat, and then try to fit in a number of other activities. If things got busy, the gym was usually the first to be cut from my list of things to do. No more. We're up at 630 everyday, but usually laze around in bed until 715 or so. Now we're getting up and going to the gym. It's going to take some getting used to, I know, but I'm finally in a place where I'm fed up and am committed to doing this.

Of course, I've been fed up before. That's where my inspiration comes in. I watched the Dr. Phil show the other day and heard about his weight loss challenge. I was so impressed that I went and bought his book. I'm not very far into it, but I was very taken by his ideology. I'm also very inspired by the people who came on national TV and said "I have a problem and I'm here to fix it". I know that watching their struggles and stories over the next year will help me with my own battles.

I'm really happy about this.

Go me!

Back ~ Forward

Current ~ Older ~ Profile ~ Design ~ Rings ~ Notes ~ Dland

I'm feeling...The current mood of ristan29@hotmail.com at www.imood.com


My life is rated R.
What is your life rated?


orion reviews Click for Ottawa, Ontario Forecast