Cat fights
2003-10-23 ~ 9:32 a.m.

We have new neighbours.

They have a cat. One that is allowed to roam freely.

The first time my cat Harry saw the cat was when it was sitting on the fence between our houses. Harry responded by hissing, spitting, growling, and climbing the screen door. Seriously. D. had to peel him off of it. Afterwards, Harry had a swagger to his step that I only see when he's been a particular kind of bastard to his sister.

The other night, D. and I were re-arranging my reading room when we heard Harry meowing downstairs. Now, on any given night, Harry likes to grab a puffball and carry it around in his mouth while he sings....just loud meows, and I have no idea what it means. Anyway, when we heard him, D. said it must be Harry singing again. It didn't sound right to me, so I went down to check. He was looking out our dining room window and making that inhuman, low pitched whining noise in the back of his throat. I didn't see anything out the window so I went up to Harry and had a closer look. Turns out the neighbours cat was sitting on the window ledge. Harry then went to the patio doors and began to create a racket that actually hurt my ears. I picked him up and scolded him gently, telling him how silly he was being.

Then his sister showed up. And all hell broke loose.

Tika is very shy and skittish. When another cat comes around though, she can be the bitch from hell. That night was no exception. She poked her head around the corner, then flung herself at the patio door, screaming and howling, with her ears pinned back and her eyes bugging out. I was so startled that I dropped Harry, which startled Tika, who then proceeded to attack her brother. Harry, of course, was raring for a fight, so I ended up with two hissing, spitting, severely pissed off cats who were facing off in my living room. We had to throw the two downstairs in the basement to cool off.

*sigh*

And the neighbours cat? Sat calmly on the window ledge the entire time. He/she is very friendly, as I found out when I opened the door to push it off the ledge. It just sniffed my fingers and rubbed up against me. It's so cute that I can't even dislike it for disrupting my household.

My two are now very jumpy. I put Harry down yesterday after a moment of cuddling, and that set Tika off again with the growling and spitting. Man. Take a fucking pill, girl. You know it's your brother, for pete's sake. Every time one of them walks by the patio doors, they have to look carefully out in the back yard. My little guard kitties. I'm so impressed.

Ok, I'm more amused than impressed. But they don't know that.

Back ~ Forward

Current ~ Older ~ Profile ~ Design ~ Rings ~ Notes ~ Dland

I'm feeling...The current mood of ristan29@hotmail.com at www.imood.com


My life is rated R.
What is your life rated?


orion reviews Click for Ottawa, Ontario Forecast