Cats(again) and more musings on Death
2003-10-30 ~ 10:21 a.m.

I'll be married for 5 months tomorrow. Pretty cool.....almost to the 1/2 year mark! And they said it wouldn't last!

So, the neighbour's cat has a friend - a black and white cat that showed up on my window sill yesterday morning while I was feeding my cats. Of course, pandemonium ensued - for about 5 seconds. Hey, there was food to be had, no time to waste on pesky kitties taking over their territory! I almost killed myself laughing at Harry and Tika, who simultaneously tried to wolf down their food and keep up a steady stream of growling at the cats outside. *Growl**Lipsmacking**Growl**Munching**Growl*

Pretty funny.

That evening, however, it became quite apparent that this cat from next door (I really should go over and introduce myself, if only to find out the damn cat's name!) reeeeeally wants in my house. I had the patio door cracked since it was hot in my kitchen from cooking. The screen door was closed, so Harry and the other cat could sniff each other. (Can you see where this is going yet?) Yowling ensued, and then the neighbour's cat actually RAN THROUGH MY SCREEN DOOR to get into the kitchen. Luckily D. was able to grab him and toss him back outside.

Kind of funny, in retrospect, but annoying at the time. Now the question is, do I tell the neighbour what happened and expect them to pay for fixing the screen door, or do I just laugh it off? Not sure. Maybe I'll email the great and all-knowing Sars about it.

Two wakes this week - one on Sunday for the mother of one of D.'s partners, and the other for a friend of D. This one was particularily sad, as this guy was only 34 years old, and left behind 2 young children. No one should die that early. It's a sad, cruel world we live in.

Which, of course, lead to much brooding on my part. My gene pool, for lack of a better word, sucks. Cancer and heart disease run rampant through both sides of my family, so I'm pretty convinced that the cause of my death will be cancer. It's just a matter of when and where the cancer will strike. Morbid of me to think this way? No, I think it's more realistic. Genetically, I don't think I stand a chance. It's as simple as that.

*Warning - poignant moment ahead* After the wake for D's friend, we came home and D. went straight to bed, exhausted. I watched him sleep for a while, thinking that I've only known him for 3 years, loved him for 2, been married only 5 months, but if I ever lost him, I know that I wouldn't be able to handle it. And that's just how I feel now. Imagine how hard it'll be in 30 years. It made me more determined than ever to enjoy my life and my marriage to the fullest.

Because you never know when Death will come along and leave you with nothing but memories. And when it does, I want nothing but good memories to look back on.

Back ~ Forward

Current ~ Older ~ Profile ~ Design ~ Rings ~ Notes ~ Dland

I'm feeling...The current mood of ristan29@hotmail.com at www.imood.com


My life is rated R.
What is your life rated?


orion reviews Click for Ottawa, Ontario Forecast