Impromptu camping
2004-06-14 ~ 10:26 a.m.

I had a great weekend.

No seriously, I did. I left work on Friday afternoon, packed up my astronomy gear (which includes my telescope - Hubble Jr. as I call it - my case of eyepieces, my observing chair, my sitting chair, a sleeping bag, pillow, various food items, astronomy books, folding table, extra clothes, and a partridge in a pear tree), and headed for the hills. Literally. I ended up joining the group an hour and a half outside of town in the middle of nowhere to hunker down for some observing and overnight camping.

Have you ever been to a dark sky site? A REALLY dark sky site? Well, this was as dark as I've ever seen them. The Milky Way wove a white path through the night sky. There were nebulae and star clusters and galaxies visible to the naked eye. It was incredible. Oh, and the crowning glory in a night of incredible sights? I found Pluto.

Yep, the planet (or not, depending on your point of view). A friend had brought some charts with him, and I was determined to find it. About a half hour later, I called my friend over to show him what I suspected was Pluto, and he confirmed that it was!

Well, you'd think that I had actually discovered the damn thing, the way I carried on. But everyone was suitably impressed, even if my high-fiving and dancing around got on their nerves a tad.

Anyhoo. I went up with the intention of staying one night, and ended up staying for two. I called D. on Saturday to make sure that this was ok with him, in case he had made any plans for us. The phone rang, and a monster answered it. I heard growling and rasping and incoherent sounds. I kept going "D.? That you?" Turns out he lost his voice the night before during an all night relay run for cancer. Poor guy.

Let me tell you something - camping is fun, provided you are well equipped and prepared for it. When you are not, it's......not so fun. I didn't bring enough extra clothes, had to sleep in my car as I didn't bring a tent, didn't have enough food, and the stench coming off of me after 2 days with no shower? Ugh. Not pretty.

But I had a ton of fun with the group - they helped me out with whatever I needed. There was a lot of laughs and jokes and good times had. I really enjoy myself with these guys - like I have a place I really belong.

And let me give a big shout out to my husband D., who is so secure in our relationship that he lets his wife go out to the middle of nowhere with 20 guys. Doesn't bat an eyelash. I don't know too many guys that could do that. He's so awesome. Even if he does snore.

Back ~ Forward

Current ~ Older ~ Profile ~ Design ~ Rings ~ Notes ~ Dland

I'm feeling...The current mood of ristan29@hotmail.com at www.imood.com


My life is rated R.
What is your life rated?


orion reviews Click for Ottawa, Ontario Forecast