Painting, and painting, and painting, and......
2004-10-12 ~ 8:59 a.m.

When it comes to decorating, I love to paint. I love picking out colours (even though it drives me mental sometimes), I love the prep work. I find it absurdly satisfying to take a roller and run that first streak of colour on the wall.

However, after 3 days straight of painting our new place, from 9 in the morning till 7 or 8 at night, I was ready to reconsider.

Add to that the 20-odd bruises all over my legs - trying to paint the kitchen included climbing up and down on the counter tops - plus the abrasion that runs the length of my forearm from a tumble off of a ladder, and you get quite an eventful weekend.

The ladder incident? Scary. I'm afraid of heights normally. Can't even stand on a chair without freaking. I'm getting sweaty palms just thinking about it. But, my task this weekend was doing the "cutting" so that my husband could roll the paint on without having to get too close to other walls, ceilings, floors, etc, so I had to use the ladder.

There is a set of stairs that lead down to our basement, and at the bottom there is a small landing, where it takes a 90 degree turn into the basement. This is where I was on the ladder, painting the top of the wall - the stair case is open to the room above, so it's a tall wall. I lost my balance a bit, so as I adjusted, the ladder slipped a bit, and I went flying through the air facefirst onto the staircase. D. was right there watching the whole thing. I was stunned for a second, but other than the scrape, I was fine.

And I didn't spill a drop of paint out of the container I was holding. That, my friends, is true talent.

I'd like to say that after 3 days, we're finished painting. Unfortunately, there are still a couple of rooms that need to be done.

Last night I swore I would perform unspeakable carnal acts on anyone who would paint the rest of the house for me. This morning is a different story. I'm actually looking forward to going back there tonight.

Pretty sick, eh? I should probably see someone about this.

Back ~ Forward

Current ~ Older ~ Profile ~ Design ~ Rings ~ Notes ~ Dland

I'm feeling...The current mood of ristan29@hotmail.com at www.imood.com


My life is rated R.
What is your life rated?


orion reviews Click for Ottawa, Ontario Forecast