See? Ghosts DO exist!!
2004-10-28 ~ 3:14 p.m.

My house is haunted.

I believe I mentioned in my last entry that we were having some lighting woes. Some lights in the basement wouldn't work without the dryer on, and the dining room and kitchen lights were screwed up too.

In the basement, the dryer, hot water tank and tv were all plugged into the same power bar. Since we couldn't keep the dryer running all night just to have some light in the basement (not all the lights were affected), we decided just to turn off that breaker, in case the house burnt down or something. Anyway, you'd think that with the breaker for that outlet being off, the tv and water tank would be turned off as well, no? Yeah right. Not in this house. The dryer was off, but the other two were fine.

It gets better.

Once that breaker was turned off, it also cut power to the kitchen/dining room (except for the fridge. Go figure). At 4 this morning, I was awakened by a beeping noise. I rolled over, looked out in the hall, and noticed a flashing light. I got up, threw some clothes on, and then went to investigate.

The light? Was the kitchen light, dimming and brightening over and over. The beeping noise was the microwave turning off and on.

When the power had been cut to the room.

Kind of freaky at that hour of the morning. Felt like a scene from a horror movie, the part where you yell at the screen "Stupid woman, don't go in the kitchen!!!"

Anyway, I had to turn off the lights and unplug the microwave. Then it was back to bed to lie awake for the rest of the night.

Did I mention that we have no heat too? The furnace has also been affected. Great. No furnace at the end of October in Ottawa. If I don't write an entry in the next few days, assume I froze to death.

D. and I figure that when he installed a new light in the kitchen (there are two, he only replaced one), some wiring got screwed up somehow. I've got a friend over tonight to take the new light out. Hopefully that will fix the problem.

If not, I hope the ghost introduces themselves.

Back ~ Forward

Current ~ Older ~ Profile ~ Design ~ Rings ~ Notes ~ Dland

I'm feeling...The current mood of ristan29@hotmail.com at www.imood.com


My life is rated R.
What is your life rated?


orion reviews Click for Ottawa, Ontario Forecast