Canada geese don't fly in perfect "V"'s, did you know that?
2004-11-29 ~ 4:57 p.m.

My house in Ottawa is located between the Ottawa River to the north, and the National Research Council's extensive farm lands to the south. Ottawa is a stopover in the spring and fall for migrating ducks and Canada geese. Each year you can practically set your watch to tell the seasons by the honking of geese overhead.

I just got home from work and as I got out of my car, I realized that we are in the direct flight path of the geese and ducks as they fly between the fields to the south (where they feed on the leftover grain and corn from the harvest) and the river in the north (where they roost at night). It was an awe-inspiring sight - thousands of geese in the clear sky at sunset flying overhead, winging their way north to the river for the night. Line after line flew by, and the cacophony of honking was almost deafening. I must have stood outside for about 15 minutes watching. I can still hear the stragglers outside hurrying to catch up to the earlier group.

I don't really have a point to this entry(other than to prove that I'm a total nature and science geek), I guess I just wanted to share my awe in the little things in nature that we tend to take for granted. Most people think of geese as foul-tempered smelly birds whose shit ruins golf courses from here to the southern US. I, however, marvel at the instinct that makes these birds travel thousands of miles a year. I find these instincts an amazing thing, be it geese flocking overhead, or something simple like my cat's hunting stance while getting ready to pounce on an unsuspecting curl of paper on the floor.

I love moments like those - when you can forget the crappy day at the office, or the fight with your spouse, or the presents on your Christmas list that you have to go shopping for - when you can just stop for a minute and enjoy nature. Really marvel at what a wonderful place our planet really is.

Back ~ Forward

Current ~ Older ~ Profile ~ Design ~ Rings ~ Notes ~ Dland

I'm feeling...The current mood of ristan29@hotmail.com at www.imood.com


My life is rated R.
What is your life rated?


orion reviews Click for Ottawa, Ontario Forecast